Out of Place

“Sensitive people faced with the prospect of a camera portrait put on a face they think is one they would like to show the world…Very often what lies behind the facade is rare and more wonderful than the subject knows or dares to believe.”

Irving Penn

The young guy in the image above approached me when I was shooting in Dubai Marina back in March.  He was curious as to what I was doing with my funny looking large format camera.  We chatted for a while and he told me he was from Bangladesh and that he worked in the building sites behind us.   He struck me as not the sort of guy who should be working on a building site and it turned out he didn’t think so either, as he hated the work he was doing.  He asked me to take his photo, so I did, just before he ran off to get his bus back to the camp where he lived.

Leave a Reply

