Year Beginning

China Miéville

Happy New Year everyone. I hope you all had a great Christmas and are looking forward to 2011. I know I am.

The photo above is of science fiction writer China Miéville, who I had the pleasure of meeting a few weeks back. As I mentioned in a previous post, I was photographing him for Libération. If you don’t know his work, you should check it out, even if you’re not a sci-fi fan. He’s a very interesting guy and not your typical sci-fi writer, with a degree in social anthropology from Cambridge and a PhD in International Relations from the London School of Economics. If you’re interested and you speak French you can read the interview with him here.

 

Libération Tearsheet

 

I have a variety of projects that I will be working on this year which I am excited about. I will be continuing my series Engineered Destruction looking at the energy industry and the environment, but will also be working on a few new ideas too. One of which I have hinted at already, will be focussed on Cricklewood, an area very close to where I live. I will begin posting images up as I go along and will explain the idea behind the project in due course.

3 thoughts on “Year Beginning

  1. I can’t wait for due course.

    Great work as always. Your portraits are burrowing deeper and deeper through your subject’s pores and digging in to their souls.

  2. happy new year thomas! hope all is well in the smoke. that beer – we should have it sometime. its been almost a year? was the last time in that pub after the arsenal/o2 shoot?

Leave a Reply

