Yuppies Coming…

I’ve been a bit slack with the updates again.  I have been out and about enjoying the incredible weather and the multitude of bank holidays and as a result have tried to stay away from a computer as much as possible. Instead I’ve been out shooting lots and I now have a stack of negatives sitting on my desk that need scanning.  So I will slowly start adding some online here.

A couple of weeks ago, I revisited the Heygate Estate in the Elephant and Castle.  I hadn’t been to see it for about a year, so I wanted to take some update images.  The place is fairly deserted, besides the last handful of residents who seem to be dotted around the flats and maisonettes, plus an active bunch of guerrilla gardeners who are planting up fruit and vegetables in the old communal lawns.  The image above is of one of the metal doors put up to keep out squatters.

Continuing with the regeneration theme, I went up to Liverpool last week to photograph the boarded-up terraced streets around Anfield stadium. Anyone who supports Liverpool FC will probably be very aware of them already.  I only found out about them a few months ago when I was photographing Wayne Hemingway and he talked about the Anfield regeneration project, which is sadly resulting in the demolition of these historic houses and streets.  I am sympathetic to the viewpoint that these houses can be quite small and lack gardens, but I do think it’s short sighted to demolish and replace them with fairly characterless modern houses and apartments.

Anfield Regeneration, Liverpool

Funnily enough I did a shoot recently for Modus Magazine (here), of the Victorian Terrace retrofit project at the BRE site in Watford.  They have been exploring new techniques and technologies for refurbishing old houses rather than demolishing them. The image below is of the two gentlemen who run the project.

John O'Brien and Peter Bonfield, BRE

I also got some good news last week.  I have been selected as one of the UK winners of the Magenta Foundation Flash Forward Awards for 2011.  It’s nice to have my work recognised by the foundation alongside some other great photographers.  More info can be found here.

Burned out Rolls Royce (well, that's what I think it is). Marble Drive, Brent Cross, London

Lastly, many of you will have heard the terrible news about the death of photographers Tim Hetherington and Chris Hondros in Misrata in Libya.  There have been a lot of articles written about both men, but this one in Vanity Fair by Tim’s friend Sebastian Junger stood out to me.  You can read it here.

One thought on “Yuppies Coming…

  1. Very interesting posting Thomas and a very moving article too. Huge congratulations on winning the award!! Clever you!

Leave a Reply

