July Update

Grande Halle, Parc des Ateliers, Arles

The past month has been a nice mix of work and pleasure. I got back from France and went straight into a week of studio work. Then last Saturday I did the Dunwich Dynamo, a 120 mile night-time cycle from London to the East coast. Despite the 9 hours on the saddle and the hours of waiting around for buses to get bike and body home, it was well worth it. Suffice to say, I was aching severely on Sunday.

Tired cyclists sleeping on the pebble beach at Dunwich, Suffolk

For those of you who haven’t been to Arles this year, it’s well worth a visit if you have time. It was my first time there so I was lucky to go with photographer and friend Alastair Thain, who’s exhibited and been there a number of times before, and was able to show me around. It’s a beautiful town, filled with lots of great photography, delicious food and drink and has great weather. What more could you ask for? The opening night of the exhibition I was part of at Galerie Huit was a success, with lots of great work on show and it was nice to see a few familiar faces there too. In fact, as Arles is so compact, I saw familiar faces all across the town. It was easy to spot many well known photographers, curators, agents and picture editors wandering around.

A few highlights of the festival for me were….. the New York Times Magazine exhibition showing 30 years of incredible photography; an amazing exhibition called “101 Tragedies of Enrique Metinides“, a very amusing clip from a movie called Love Exposure by Sion Sono and an interesting documentary by British filmmaker Trisha Ziff called The Mexican Suitcase. It’s about the loss (and eventual rediscovery) of a set of negatives shot by photographers Robert Capa, Gerda Taro and David Seymour during the Spanish civil war. I recommend checking it out when it comes to the UK. Although be warned it doesn’t go into detail about whether Capa’s “falling soldier” is real or fake.

I also got to hang out and have some beers with some of the great people who represent me at Picturetank in Paris.

Pedestrian Bridge over the Rhone river, Arles

I’ve been continuing with my project on regeneration in the UK, and in particular looking at the proposed Cricklewood redevelopment. I finally managed to get access to the tallest building in the area, which is the Holiday Inn at Brent Cross. After a bit of persuading, the manager of the hotel very kindly allowed me to take some photographs from the roof. So I hauled all my large format gear up there and harnessed myself down. Unfortunately, the morning I went up, the weather was poor and the wind was very strong, so I couldn’t stay for long. However, I managed to get some establishing images, and I will return later in the summer and get some more when the light is better. Here’s a sample anyway. This view will look radically different in years to come if Barnet council and the developers Hammerson get their way. They want to build an entire new town centre through much of the foreground you see here. Although judging by what some residents have said to me so far, they may have a tough fight on their hands.

Looking South across the proposed Brent Cross Cricklewood Redevelopment Site, North London

Lastly, the image below is from a recent portrait shoot I did for the lovely people at Modus magazine. The photo is of an art dealer called Tania Buckrell. See the full issue here.

Tania Buckrell
Leave a Reply

