New Year

Connemara, Co Galway, Ireland

A very belated Happy New Year to you all.

I had a great Christmas back in Ireland.  It’s always nice to be back on the ol’ sod and catch up with family, and get away from the madness of London for a bit.  I enjoyed a lot of countryside walks and had the pleasure of celebrating New Years Eve with some friends in the wilds of Connemara.  The view above was from the back door of the cottage we were in…somehow I was convinced to go for a swim in that lake as a refreshing way to ring in the new year!

A reassuring sign to see from your kitchen window

Since then, I’ve been back in London editing the shoot I was working on for GEO in December (photos to follow next month).  Then last week I returned to photograph one of the last residents living in the Ferrier Estate in Kidbrooke in South London.  Demolition has progressed a lot and it is pretty grim for the two or three remaining people living there. It’s not a nice place to be left in as many of the buildings are being pulled down around them.  It seems to be a recurrent problem, where developers and councils will make pledges that the ‘decanting’ of residents will run smoothly and alternative accommodation will be found for them before demolition begins.  In reality this rarely happens.

Awaiting demolition
Carl. The last resident in his block

I will post up some portraits from this series very soon.

I have photos up in two travelling exhibitions in the next couple of months.  My images that were exhibited at Galerie Huit as part of Les Rencontres d’Arles in the summer of 2011 have now moved to Penang in Malaysia (details here) and my Dubai images that were selected for the Flash Forward awards 2011 are moving from Toronto to The Salt Institute for Documentary Studies, in Portland, Maine, USA.  March 2nd – May 4th 2012.  More details here.

With the recent events surrounding Kodak, there has been a lot of speculation about this being the end of film and the end of an era. Read this BJP article article for a bit of context.  I don’t use film for every shoot, but I still use it a lot, and I know I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

