Olympomania

Olympic Rowing at Eton Dorney, London 2012.

This will be a short post.  I hope you’re all having a good summer, and if you’re into sport, enjoying the London Olympics.

I’ve been on the move around the country a lot these past few weeks with a mixture of commissions and work for a large new project I’ve started.  One recent shoot was for the July issue of Modus magazine, which is focussing on coastlines this month.  Charles Green (below) is Marine Energy Asset Manager for the Crown Estate, which I was surprised to hear still owns “55% of the UK’s foreshore, including harbours, ports, marinas, pipelines, half the tidal river beds and virtually all of the UK seabed.”  He’s photographed here on an instruction course to prepare him for climbing offshore wind turbines.

Charles Green, Modus Magazine, July 2012

Last week, I was commissioned to photograph Lord Paddy Ashdown for Libération at his beautiful home in rural Somerset.  He was a pleasure to work with and is an incredibly interesting man to meet and talk to.  I’ll post up images and details once the article is published. In the meantime, some of you may find his TED talk on the ‘Global Power Shift’ interesting…

I am off to Washington State, Oregon and California for a few weeks, so I will write a more extensive post when I get back in September.  I hope to have some interesting photos to post up from my travels.

Forest Clearance, Glenmalure, County Wicklow. Taken on a recent trip back to Ireland
Ballinaskea, Wicklow, Ireland
Leave a Reply

